Ancient Beech Forests of Germany

Short Film

In June 2011 the list of the UNESCO World Natural Heritage sites was extended by five beech forest areas in Germany: the Beech Forest Grumsin in Brandenburg, the National Park Kellerwald-Edersee in Hesse, the Jasmund National Park and the beech forest of Serrahn in the Müritz National Park in Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, as well as the Hainich National Park in Thuringia. They are the last and most valuable remains of subnatural lowland-beech forests that exist only in Germany. The result is an emotional short film about the uniqueness and diversity of these beech forests.


Janis Klinkenberg


Janis Klinkenberg, Simon Straetker, Joshi Nichell, David Lohmüller


Janis Klinkenberg


Janis Klinkenberg


Kirsten König


Markus Hoffmann